Have you seen the bumper stickers with this statement?  I’m not much of a bumper sticker person but this is one I’d actually put on my car.  I’m so tired of the leadership of fear.  At our Session meeting this past month, the elder leading the devotion talked about her desire to lead out of love rather than fear.  She mentioned that the ordination question that she struggled with the most was this one:

Will you seek to serve the people with energy, intelligence, imagination and love? 

Nowhere, she said, does it ask that we serve out of fear.  I could have stood up and cheered!  The temptation though, she said, is that we lead out of fear without even realizing it.  She talked about the changes going on in our world, in our community, and in our church and our need to respond out of our energy, imagination, intelligence, and love rather than fear. 

I tire of the fear that keeps us from taking risks. I tire of the dance we step around tough issues.  I tire of the fear that keeps us from speaking truth.  Nowhere in that question (or any of the ordination questions) are we asked to lead out of fear. 

Thanks be to God. Thanks be to God of the leadership of that elder who helped me understand why I love that question so much.

