Tags

, , , ,

Grainy images in history books and a scratchy recording of his voice are my memories of what happened 45 years ago today.  I was 8 months old when Martin Luther King, Jr. offered hope for this country on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial.  Tonight another is bearing hope for our country.  It remains to be seen how we will respond.  I kept thinking how exhausted and exhilirated Obama must be.  I’m exhausted on a Sunday afternoon after a busy morning! 

So make the jump with me…

Isn’t that what our faith communities should be?  Filled with people who bear hope for each other?  Who are their sister’s and brother’s keepers?  That’s not a Obama quote – that’s a biblical command. 

I am reminded of so many who have held onto hope for me over the course of my life.  And I am reminded of those for whom I am bearing hope:

  • for my friend who will be removing her father from life support this weekend
  • for the person whose marriage of many years is dissolving before her eyes
  • for my friend who is feeling stuck and without direction

Bearing hope is not a burden but a gracious gift.  I suppose that is why it is exhausting and exhilirating.

Politics aside…

Let us continue to hold firmly to the hope that we confess without wavering, for the One who made the promise is faithful.  (Hebrews 10:23)

