Tags

,

palestine-poppy2Gaza…Israel…the economy…marriages disolving (not mine!)… 

Lately, I’ve been wondering if it is possible for folks to hear each other when they disagree.  I read other blogs and hear conversations.  Even today I read the Layman (and my blood pressure did not go crazy!)  I’m not sure some of my colleagues truly want to find common ground.  Instead, they seem more determined than ever to simply point fingers, blast their voices and their perspective as the right one. 

Maybe it is age.  Maybe it is laziness.  Maybe it is a call to move my energies in other directions.  Maybe it is a trust in something bigger than my own passions.  I came across this quote from Karl Barth today. 

it is not we who must care for the dear God, but God who cares fo us.  In every respect we must take that into account, and live without anxiety on that basis.  God cares for us, and God cares for our church and our communities.  God sees to it that God’s truth does not fall to the ground, but rather that it remains on the lampstand.

I think I’m done engaging in pointless conversations.  That’s not to say I don’t care.  I do deeply.  I just don’t think I’m the one that has to change the world anymore.  We’ll see.  Center, Kerri, center.

