Tags

, , ,

I’m a bit behind already (nothing new!) but have decided to be a part of #Reverb10 an opportunity to reflect on the year past and look towards the year ahead.  Nothing quite like taking on a challenge in the midst of one of the busiest seasons for me but let’s see where this road will take me.

Day 1  One Word. Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you? (Author: Gwen Bell)

Funny you should ask!  For the past few years I have taken Christine Kane’s challenge to choose a word that would set my intention for the year.  2008 was wonder.  2009 was center.  2010 was enoughI am enough was a reminder that who I am is enough for the challenges before me.  I am a worrier by nature (and nurture!)  I worked hard to remind myself of that when some challenges at work came my way.  I reminded myself of that when parenting my wonderful girl.  I reminded myself when there simply was more pain and hurt in this world than I could bear. 

I think I could use another year of reminding myself that I am enough but the challenge is before me and I’m not one to back down to challenges.  Drum roll please…the word for 2011 will be space.  I came across the journal from my ordination and discovered once again the words of Parker Palmer to create a space in which obedience to truth is practiced.  I treasure those words and try to live by them but have found myself closing space rather than opening it.  I want to create safe space for others to explore and be.  To hear God’s call on their lives whether it be in neon lights or a gentle whisper. 

Day 2 – Writing. What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it? (Author: Leo Babauta)

This is an easy one.  I don’t believe that I am a good writer.  I even tell others that.   The negative messages I send to myself keep me from writing – on this blog, liturgy, even my private journaling.  I limit myself with negative messages.  Can I eliminate it?  First steps… I can stop telling myself that I can’t write and just write! 

