Tags

, ,

Day 4 – Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year? (Author: Jeffrey Davis)

I wonder where this road will take us…

Those were the words my dad would use when we would head off on vacation.  They have become a mantra of sorts for me as I have discoverd the practice of pilgrimage. 

Pilgrimage – it has become the manna of my life and this year I shared this practice with 4 women from our congregation.  Pilgrimage isn’t easy – you have to plan the time to be away and give up easy access to the regular world.  It is fun, no doubt!  But for driven, successful, busy folks it is hard to give up control and allow a spiritual director and the Spirit herself to guide you.  Oh but the nurture and care, life and joy that comes true in the midst of the journey. 

It is these words from Herman Hagedoorn that capture it for me:  Keep open, oh, keep open, my eyes, my mind, my heart. 

I wonder where the next road will be!

