Tags

, , , , , ,

…a White Christmas is a given, not a dream! 

But I do have dreams and aspirations.  I love snow days!  Unexpected gifts and time to be.  Today’s prompt from Reverb10 is perfect for a day of reflection and laziness, decorating and baking. 

Day 13 – Action When it comes to aspirations, it’s not about ideas. It’s about making ideas happen. What’s your next step? (Author: Scott Belsky)

I have two dreams that I’m pondering of late:  one is to learn how to play piano and the other is to learn how to paint (watercolor, I think).  My dilemma whenever I start something new is my desire to be excellent at the get-go.  I want to be able to play piano like Miriam or John.  I want to paint like Kenny Decker or Georgia O’Keefe.  I like to start small.  Sigh. 

The next step is to decide which one to follow

Piano

  • we don’t have a piano but we do have keyboards (not weighted keys, though)
  • playing piano is not weather dependent
  • it will require regular practice (that can be a plus or a minus!)
  • will I have to play silly songs at the beginning (I’m picturing learning Aura Lee on the guitar when I was in 4th grade – Aura Lee?)
  • I need to find a teacher that is good for adults
  • I have some musical background but have never learned to read music – rhythms, yes; notes, no.

 

Painting

  • supplies will need to be purchased
  • where do I paint?  I’m guessing I would need to set up/tear down wherever I do end up painting
  • weather dependent – at least to an extent.  Although I bet I could do a great painting of the winter white-out happening outside today!
  • where to take lessons? 

What else do I need to consider?  Which would you choose?  I’d love to hear your words of wisdom.

