Tags

, ,

Day 14 – Appreciate What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it? (Author: Victoria Klein)

My brother.  S is the epitome of “big brother.”  He has always been present in my life.  When I wanted a pair of Adidas tennies, before my feet had stopped growing and mom and dad said no, he bought them for me for my birthday.  He showed up for the league finals in my freshman year when I was running for the championship (and I won!).  He called and gave my mom a “talking-to” when he was worried about the senior I was dating (my mom’s words:  “not all seniors are like you!”).  He sold our car when we left for seminary; trusted me with his newborn son; picked us up at the airport when my dad was dying with a hug only he could give; sends me silly notes; listens to me vent; cares for my daughter as if she is his own; calls me just to talk; worries about my mom with me.  I could not ask for a better brother.

Shared history and a future that will always include each other.  Thanks be to God for you, big brother.

