Tags

,

Day 23 – New Name. Let’s meet again, for the first time. If you could introduce yourself to strangers by another name for just one day, what would it be and why? (Author: Becca Wilcott)

My parents wanted to call me Laurie (#42 0n the most popular names list for 1962) but my big brothers refused.  They had received Christmas gifts from their pen pals (do people still have pen pals?) in England – trucks, which are called lorries across the pond.  They refused to have their baby sister named after a truck.  Instead, I was named after a character in a book my mom was reading – she can’t remember the book.  I love having a unique name.  My mom went to all sorts of efforts to make sure I had magnets and stickers, even a license plate for my bike – all those important childhood mementos with my name inscribed upon them.  It bugged me at times to have a name that I couldn’t find at Disneyland or Magic Mountain on some cheesy pen or hat or other such overpriced merchandise. 

I have absolutely no idea what name I would use for a day.  I never even had a bar name during college! 

I like the name Kerri and on most days I like the Kerri that I am.

